How this is going to work… (And what’s a Branded Skeptic, anyway?)

I called my blog Branded Skeptic for the sake of being pithy, but I find it an apt title for the picture in my head. What I would like this blog to do is address the various things that matter to me, including, but not limited to, science, art, culture, and the media, in a way that challenges authority and the so-called “norm”. Along the way I intend to let you know about how I became the person I am – and the person I am still becoming – with what I’m sure will be engrossing tales about my upbringing and education.

I like having structure in my life, so to make things easier on myself, I’m going to set up a schedule for this blog:

On Tuesdays, I’ll pick one story from the “news” (I reserve the right to decide what paper/TV network/YouTube channel I feel like using as a source that day) that I think could use a healthy dose of skepticism or objectivity. A lot of times this will be news about a so-called scientific study, which I believe the media is especially prone to misrepresenting. I’ll give my own take on what’s not being said and why.

On Thursdays, I’ll pick a piece of media that I’d like to explore. This might be a new song I like or hate, a commercial that I enjoyed or found problematic, a new book I think you should read, a movie or TV show I think you should watch, or a magazine article that I found particularly interesting. I’ll try to be as objective as possible about whatever it is, and talk about the good, the bad, and the ugly.

On Saturdays, I’ll pick a post from my blog roll and engage with it. Maybe I’ll tell you why I like it. Maybe I’ll tell you why I disagree with it. Maybe I’ll just ramble. We’ll see.

My hope is that you’ll read, that you’ll think about the things I’m saying, and that you’ll discuss your thoughts with me.

Leave a Reply

